+49.211542117.0 office@grip-legal.de

Dr. Denis Gebhardt, LL.M.

Partner
Corporate, Litigation/Arbitration
lawyer since 2000

Contact
tel.: (+49) 211.542117.20
fax: (+49) 211.542117.11
email: denis.gebhardt@grip-legal.de

Denis Gebhardt is a partner of GRIP LEGAL specializing in litigation/arbitration and corporate clients. He represents companies and entrepreneurs in complex conflict situations and drafts commercial contract documents. Denis Gebhardt is particularly specialized in arbitration and corporate litigation. He uses his experience as the arbitrator in more than 100 national and international arbitration proceedings to represent clients in courts of arbitration. “Best Lawyers” features Denis Gebhardt as a recommended lawyer for arbitration proceedings. He also brings his comprehensive expertise in corporate litigation to conduct corporate transactions. In this capacity he is also a co-author in the Munich Handbook for Corporate Litigation and the Handbook for Company Transactions by Hölters.

Denis Gebhardt studied law at the Justus-Liebig-University in Giessen, where he also gained a Ph.D. on the subject “Models for the reform of the transfer system for professional soccer players from a legal and a realistic point of view”. Following the referendarship (Referendariat) at the district court of Frankfurt am Main Denis studied Transnational Business Practice at the McGeorge School of Law in Sacramento/U.S.A, where he added a Master of Laws (LL.M.) degree to his CV. As part of this master program Denis also worked for the U.S. American law firm Nelson Mullins in Atlanta. On his return to Germany Denis began his legal career at the law firm Hölters & Elsing (now Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP) in Düsseldorf where he was elected as partner in 2007. In the year 2003, Denis was admitted as an attorney-at-law in the U.S. federal state of New York, and in the year 2005 as one of a small number of foreign lawyers at the U.S. Supreme Court. After two further periods as partner of a medium-sized German and a U.S. American law firm respectively, Denis founded a boutique law firm in 2015, “Gebhardt Legal”, specializing in litigation/arbitration and corporate clients. This is the expertise Denis Gebhardt brings to GRIP LEGAL.

In Düsseldorf Denis is involved as “Tischbaas” (chairman of a subgroup of members) and chairman of a chamber of the internal court of arbitration of the local heritage club, “Düsseldorfer Jonges”. He is married with two children.

Let’s Work Together

+49.211542117.0 office@grip-legal.de

Dr. Denis Gebhardt, LL.M.

Partner
Corporate, Litigation/Arbitration
Rechtsanwalt seit 2000

Kontakt
Tel.: (+49) 211.542117.20
Fax: (+49) 211.542117.11
E-Mail: denis.gebhardt@grip-legal.de

Denis Gebhardt ist Partner von GRIP LEGAL in den Bereichen Litigation/Arbitration und Corporate Clients. Er vertritt Unternehmen und Unternehmer in komplexen Konfliktsituationen und wirtschaftsvertraglichen Gestaltungen. Einen besonderen Schwerpunkt hat Denis Gebhardt im Schiedsverfahrensbereich sowie in gesellschaftsrechtlichen Streitigkeiten. Er blickt auf die Erfahrung als Schiedsrichter in über 100 nationalen und internationalen Schiedsverfahren zurück und nutzt diese Erfahrung in der Vertretung von Mandanten vor Schiedsgerichten. Bei Best Lawyers wird Denis Gebhardt als empfohlener Rechtsanwalt für Schiedsverfahren geführt. Seine umfangreiche Expertise in gesellschaftsrechtlichen Streitigkeiten bringt er zudem in die Gestaltung von gesellschaftsrechtlichen Transaktionen ein. In diesem Bereich ist er auch Co-Autor im Münchener Handbuch für gesellschaftsrechtliche Streitigkeiten und im Handbuch Unternehmenskauf von Hölters.

An der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen studierte Denis Gebhardt Rechtswissenschaften und promovierte dort zum Thema „Modelle für die Reform des Transfersystems für Berufsfußballspieler aus rechtlicher und tatsächlicher Sicht“. Nach dem Referendariat am Landgericht Frankfurt am Main studierte Denis Gebhardt Transnational Business Practice an der McGeorge School of Law in Sacramento/USA und schloss dieses Studium mit dem Master of Laws (LL.M.) ab. Im Rahmen dieses Master-Programms war Denis Gebhardt auch für die US-amerikanische Sozietät Nelson Mullins in Atlanta tätig. Nach der Rückkehr nach Deutschland begann Denis Gebhardt seine anwaltliche Laufbahn bei der Sozietät Hölters & Elsing (jetzt Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP) in Düsseldorf, wo er 2007 zum Partner gewählt wurde. Im Jahr 2003 wurde Denis Gebhardt zum Attorney at Law im US-Bundesstaat New York zugelassen und im Jahr 2005 als einer von wenigen ausländischen Anwälten vor dem U.S. Supreme Court. Nach zwei weiteren Stationen als Partner einer mittelständischen deutschen und einer US-amerikanischen Kanzlei, gründete Denis Gebhardt 2015 die auf Litigation/Arbitration und Corporate Clients spezialisierte Boutique-Kanzlei Gebhardt Legal. Diese Expertise bringt Denis Gebhardt bei GRIP LEGAL ein.

In Düsseldorf engagiert sich Denis Gebhardt als Tischbaas und Vorsitzender einer Kammer des vereinsinternen Schiedsgerichts des Heimatvereins Düsseldorfer Jonges. Er ist verheiratet und hat zwei Kinder.

Let's Work Together